DR ANDREW WEIL: 4 WAYS TO MANAGE PREDIABETES

Prediabetesnoun. The state of having higher than normal blood sugar levels, but not yet in the range of diabetes.  Puts you at increased risk for developing type 2 or full-blown diabetes.

Rx to address prediabetes and prevent type 2 diabetes:

1.  Get daily physical activity.  Exercise improves the action of insulin, moving glucose out of the bloodstream and into tissues where it can be used for energy.

2.  Maintain a healthy weight.  If you’re overweight, the more pounds you lose, the less is your chance of developing diabetes.  Talk with your doctor about what your optimum weight should be and how to achieve it.

3.  Eat a diet low in refined carbohydrates.  Incorporate fresh fruits, vegetables, whole grains and monounsaturated fats (such as extra virgin olive oil) into your diet.

4.  Manage your health.  Get regular checkups for blood pressure, cholesterol and triglyceride levels.  Seek treatment if necessary.

My Take on prediabetes—I see it as an important wake-up call. Unfortunately, I also see too many of us respond to the wake-up call by hitting the Snooze Button, intending to take action tomorrow.  Or some day.

We all have only a finite number of tomorrows and some days.  Ignoring higher than normal blood sugar is a certain way to reduce both the number of days we have to live and our enjoyment of those days.

We can’t beat prediabetes without taking the threat seriously.  If someone you love isn’t taking the condition seriously, or if you or aren’t taking your own prediabetes seriously, check out   http://www.effectsofdiabetes.org/  and call your doctor ASAP.

To stay abreast of Lake County Battles Obesity, visit Ron Graham’s blog for the Lake County General Health District athttp://lcghd.blogspot.com   Visit often.  The life and limb you save may be your own.

2 responses to “DR ANDREW WEIL: 4 WAYS TO MANAGE PREDIABETES

  1. I received the prediabetes diagnosis two years ago. I expected it to hit me because of my family history. You have to change how you live. I hit the gym several times a week. Try to eat healthy. Check my sugar. See my doctor.
    I saw my dad struggle with his diabetes and daily insulin shots for years.
    I know this condition can’t be ignored. I will fight it. But I also will continue to chase women and have a beer or two. Love, laughter, exercise and vigilence make up how I live. You can still live with prediabetes but you ignore it at your peril.

  2. Al–I salute you. Thanks for the comment.
    Carole

Leave a Reply

