THE JOYS OF #NAPPING

bji03020112

Napping isn’t a ritual limited to babies, the elderly, or to Spanish and Asian societies.  It’s something that all of us can benefit from and should do, particularly in the US where we’re encouraged to use caffeine and energy drinks—tooth-decaying, unhealthy substitutes for rest–to keep us sharp and multitasking through the afternoon.

Napping restores alertness and raises performance, whether in school or at work.  It also reduces stress from being fatigued and irritable during the day.

Experts recommend limiting naps to 15-30 minutes to assure waking up fresh and alert.  The longer we nap, the more we convince our bodies that they’re shutting down for an extended sleep cycle.  Waking up after an hour’s sleep leaves us feeling groggy and out of it.  (Hah!  See below.)

Find yourself a quiet, dark and comfortable place to help you relax and fall asleep faster.

The best time to take a restorative nap is between 1 PM and 2 PM.  It’s about the time most of us feel tired, but it’s still far enough away from bedtime so as not to interfere with our sleep schedules.

My Take on napping:  I don’t mean to brag, but I have a Black Belt in Napping.  It’s one of the fine health habits I learned from my mother.  I probably nap 5 days out of 7.

I consider the hours between 11:30 AM when I begin preparing my lunch and 1:30 PM or so as my daily siesta, when I turn off the ringer on the phone.

I generally sleep about an hour or more and wake up feeling great.

I do love my early mornings, so when I wake up from my nap I feel like I’m getting a second morning in my day.

Try it.  Bet you can’t take just one.

SOURCE:   lifesgoodness.com, February 2013

2 responses to “THE JOYS OF #NAPPING

  1. I love this idea Carole! I’m going to see if they will endorse it at work too!

  2. Kolman–During the late 90s I took a temp job at the Triangle in University Circle as an assistant to a brilliant man who was conducting studies of persons with Diabetes 1. As the examining room was empty after noon, I asked if I could use it to take a short nap after lunch.
    No hesitation, no problem.
    The lesson I learned: If you don’t ask, you won’t get it. If you do ask, you might get it.
    If Chuck’s reluctant, direct his attention to my reply.
    Carole

Leave a Reply

